City announces Betty C. Howard award winners, honors volunteers

Volunteers recognized for service and dedication

Mayor Jen Cavenaugh began this week’s City Council meeting with a recognition of Piedmont volunteers who have served on various committees and commissions and whose terms are now ending. Each recipient took photos with the city council and was given award placards. This year’s volunteers included members from the Budget Advisory and Financial Planning Committee, Civil Service Committee, Planning Commission, Police and Fire Pension Board, Public Safety Committee and Recreation Commission. The following individuals were recognized and thanked:

  • Vanessa L. Washington | Budget Advisory Committee
  • Chris Chan, Michael Henn, John Lenahan, Sharon Shoshani | CIP Review
  • Amy Kelly | Civil Service Commission
  • Douglas Strout | Planning Commission
  • Robert Dickinson | Police & Fire Pension Board
  • Jeffrey Horner | Public Safety Committee
  • Susan Terrill | Recreation Commission

The Piedmont Recreation Department also announced the Betty C. Howard Award, created in 1979 to honor recreation volunteers and staff members for their dedication and outstanding service. The volunteering award went to Carolyn Yang Stewart (pictured at center in below left photo), who has served as the Ultimate Frisbee coach since 2016. She has also worked as the Ultimate Frisbee coach for Piedmont Middle School’s Purple Rain team. Stewart, who began as an athlete before becoming a coach, has collaborated with the Bay Area Disc Association and has garnered respect from opponents throughout her career. According to Akil Danjuma, Piedmont Sports Coordinator, she is the very embodiment of a youth sports coach. 

The Betty C Howard Award for a staff member went to youth basketball coach Madison Mills (center in above right photo). Mills is the coach for recreational basketball leagues, boys and girls middle school teams and the Piedmont High School JV girls basketball team. According to Danjuma, she is “dedication personified.”    

Following this celebration was the swearing-in of a new Police Officer and Sergeant. Jehan Liles (above left) was sworn in as a police officer. Liles joined the department a year ago through the FTO program. David Cutler (above right) was sworn in as a new sergeant and has served as a member of the force in Piedmont as well as other departments in the state and the military. 

Leave a Reply

The Exedra comments section is an essential part of the site. The goal of our comments policy is to help ensure it is a vibrant yet civil space. To participate, we ask that Exedra commenters please provide a first and last name. Please note that comments expressing congratulations or condolences may be published without full names. (View our full Comments Policy.)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *