Letter to the Editor | Hats off to July Fourth Committee

The Independence Day Parade is one of Piedmont’s oldest, most beloved traditions and reflects the unique spirit that makes this community so special.

The parade was founded by Mr. Dick Johnson in 1965, and ever since then a group of spirited volunteers have come together annually to coordinate this spectacular event, which brings joy and delight to residents of all ages.

The Piedmont City Council would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to the 4th of July Committee members and community volunteers who planned and executed the 56th annual Independence Day parade and party in the park.

Thank you to Committee members:
• Kathy Kelleher (Chair)
• Carla Betts
• Roland Lazzarotto (Parade Starter/Vehicle Coordinator)
• Michael Bruck
• Carolyn Bruck
• Marilyn Weber
• Gray Cathrall
• John Morrison (Vehicle Coordinator)
• Greg Bloom
• Kimberly Gray
• Carrie McAlister Protopappas
• Paula Klein
• Patty Edmonds (Parade Announcer)
This event would not be possible without countless hours of hard work from this group dedicated volunteers. Their boundless enthusiasm and unwavering commitment to our community is an inspiration for us all.

Mayor Jen Cavenaugh
Vice-Mayor Betsy Andersen
Councilmember Conna McCarthy
Councilmember Jennifer Long
Councilmember Tom Ramsey

Leave a Reply

The Exedra comments section is an essential part of the site. The goal of our comments policy is to help ensure it is a vibrant yet civil space. To participate, we ask that Exedra commenters please provide a first and last name. Please note that comments expressing congratulations or condolences may be published without full names. (View our full Comments Policy.)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *