Piedmont adult softball playoffs set

The Piedmont Recreation Department concluded the 2022 regular season of its popular adult softball league on Tuesday night.

Game of Throws (l-r): Julie Borjon, Luke Heller, Russell Bourne, Sara Tischhauser, Bob Sharman, Mark Webb, Ito Ripsteen, Dale Turner, Julian Turner, Sam Williamson, Christian Turner, Alison Montes, Marisa Strong. Missing: Ben Williamson, Brian Mahany, Brian Molyneaux, Carin Alemania, Dan Ferreira, Dillon Heller, Kim Hunter, Leah Kjellen, Linda Smith Munyan, Natalie Williamson, Stephanie Litwin

The league had six teams this year, including the newly-formed Free Agents. The other five teams are the Game of Throws, Beach Bums, Muffintops, Baja Bombers, and Saints & Sinners.

Beach Bums: (l-r) Todd Dando, Chad Ironside, George White, Steven King, Erin Dando, Sara Ironside, Maggie Mittan, Peter Udovch, Chiaty Shrieve, Andrew Shrieve, David Gard. Not pictured: Carla Odenheim, Candida Bell, Carter Shoop, Duncan Callaway, Emily Shoop, Jane Lin, Matt Town, Meredith Fowlie, Solon Bell.

After the final regular season games, Recreation Coordinator Akil Danjuma announced the seeding for the playoffs:

Muffintops: front row (l-r) Nick Levinson, Lauren Dutton, Paul Tiao, Fritz Fredericks; back row (l-r) Clay Mitchell, John Shields, Joe Knoll, Tami Collins, Sandy Fox, Pat Philips, Georgia Fox. Missing: Cole Pieper, Dawn Pieper, Jonathan Patchen, Victor Saenz, Jaylon Davis, Alyssa, Larry Hawkins, Adam Lipansky, Sydney Williams, Joe Haggerty, Owen Levinson, Ben Levinson

On Wednesday night, the #4 seed Bums will host the #5 seed Throws, and the #3 seed Tops will host the #6 seed Agents. The winner of the 3-6 game will play the #2 seed Bombers, while the winner of the 4-5 game will play the #1 seed Sinners, with both games scheduled for Thursday night. The winners of those games will play for the championship on Friday night.

2021 Champion Baja Bombers: Top Row: Chris Lundin, Chiara Lundin, Brian Pometta, Bryan Cantrill, Shlomi Ronen, Casey Hellman, Amerin Falk. Bottom Row: Monique Small, Scott Donahue, Kai the Dog, Adam Berman, Deb Leland, Jeff Scofield, Heather Gonzalez

Players and coaches expressed their appreciation to Akil and the Rec Department, along with the umpires, scorekeepers, field preppers, and others who make the league a reality each year.

St. John’s Episcopal Church Saints & Sinners Back row, l–r: Ian Storrar, Jon Owens, Siobhan Flaherty, John Holmstroem, Dustin Tucker, Greg Hubbard, Bryan Farley Front row, l–r: Eliza Bailey, Samantha Wang, Natalie Tyson, Elaine Louie, Su Cox, Randy Levandowski (with mascot Nala), Leland Bailey, Sarah Jones. Not shown: Maddy Jones, Tom Fregoso, Lewis Lopez, Ally McKnight and Greg Slatoff. Photo credit: Kellor Smith

Leave a Reply

The Exedra comments section is an essential part of the site. The goal of our comments policy is to help ensure it is a vibrant yet civil space. To participate, we ask that Exedra commenters please provide a first and last name. Please note that comments expressing congratulations or condolences may be published without full names. (View our full Comments Policy.)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *