Piedmont adult softball playoff match-ups set

2021 Beach Bums (l-r): Steven King, Jen Ferguson, Duncan Callaway, David Gard, George White, Peter Udovch, Carla Odenheim, Erin Dando, Todd Dando, Chiaty Shrieve, Andrew Shrieve

The adult softball league regular season ended on July 30. The five-team post-season tournament will begin on August 2.

2021 St. John’s Episcopal Church Saints & Sinners: Back row, l–r: Ian Storrar, Jon Owens, Siobhan Flaherty, John Holmstroem, Dustin Tucker, Greg Hubbard, Bryan Farley Front row, l–r: Eliza Bailey, Samantha Wang, Natalie Tyson, Elaine Louie, Su Cox, Randy Levandowski (with mascot Nala), Leland Bailey, Sarah Jones. Not shown: Maddy Jones, Tom Fregoso, Lewis Lopez, Ally McKnight and Greg Slatoff. Photo credit: Kellor Smith (July 7, 2021).

The last two games featured the Muffintops squeaking by Game of Throws, 5-4, and Saints and Sinners thrashing the Beach Bums, 9-1.

2021 Muffintops (standing l-r): Adam Lipansky, Cole Pieper, Dawn Pieper, Larry Hawkins, Nick Levinson, Lauren Dutton, Joe Knoll, Clay Mitchell. Bill Bocheff (front). Missing: John Shields, Paul Tiao, Victor Ramirez, Ryan Phillips, Tami Collins, Pat Phillips, Sandy Fox, Julie Moll

Despite the loss, Beach Bums ended the regular season with the best record, at 5-2-1. Saints and Sinners finished second at 3-2-3, followed by Muffintops at 4-3-1, Baja Bombers at 3-5, and Game of Throws at 2-5-1.

2021 Baja Bombers (l-r): Michael Stankiewicz, Scott Donahue, Heather Gonzalez, Amerin Falk, Brian Pometta, Adam Berman

The playoffs start with a play-in game between the #4 seed Bombers and #5 seed Throws. The winner of that game on August 2 faces the #1 seed Bums on August 4. The second game on August 4 pits the #2 seed Saints and Sinners against the #3 seed Muffintops. The winners of those two games play for the championship on August 6.

2021 Game of Throws (l-r): Julie Borjon, Luke Heller, Russell Bourne, Sara Tischhauser, Bob Sharman, Mark Webb, Ito Ripsteen, Dale Turner, Julian Turner, Sam Williamson, Christian Turner, Alison Montes, Marissa Strong Missing: Ben Williamson, Brian Mahany, Brian Molyneaux, Carin Alemania, Dan Ferreria, Dillon Heller, Kim Hunter, Leah Kjellen, Linda Smith Munyan, Natalie Williamson, Stephanie Litwin

Leave a Reply

The Exedra comments section is an essential part of the site. The goal of our comments policy is to help ensure it is a vibrant yet civil space. To participate, we ask that Exedra commenters please provide a first and last name. Please note that comments expressing congratulations or condolences may be published without full names. (View our full Comments Policy.)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *