Nomination period opens for Piedmont 2020 elections

Preparing for the 2020 election

The nomination period for the November 2020 election opened on July 13, with several candidates requesting nomination papers from City Clerk John Tulloch.

Incumbent Jen Cavenaugh was one of three people to take out papers to run for City Council on the first day of the nomination period. Connie Herrick and Conna McCarthy also intend to run.

Two seats are up for election this year, including Cavenaugh’s and Mayor Robert McBain’s. McBain has served two consecutive four-year terms and cannot run for re-election. Council members Tim Rood, Betsy Smegal Andersen, and Teddy King are currently serving terms that run through 2022.

For School Board, Hari Titan was the only person to request nomination papers on the first day. Three seats are open in 2020, including the one occupied by current Board member Cory Smegal, who is eligible to run for a second term. Andrea Swenson and Sarah Pearson are both termed out, and Board President Amal Smith’s term runs through 2022.

The nomination period runs through August 7. Qualified candidates can request papers through the City Clerk’s office. Twenty valid signatures of Piedmont voters are required to be turned in by the deadline. Candidates must be eligible voters in Piedmont.

Potential candidates are asked to make an appointment with Tulloch to receive their papers. He can be reached at 510-420-3041 or

Leave a Reply

The Exedra comments section is an essential part of the site. The goal of our comments policy is to help ensure it is a vibrant yet civil space. To participate, we ask that Exedra commenters please provide a first and last name. Please note that comments expressing congratulations or condolences may be published without full names. (View our full Comments Policy.)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *