2019 Adult Softball Season Ends with Playoffs

Beach Bums: (l-r) Todd Dando, Chad Ironside, George White, Steven King, Erin Dando, Sara Ironside, Maggie Morgan, Peter Udovch, Chiaty Shrieve, Andrew Shrieve, David Gard. Not pictured: Carla Odenheim, Candida Bell, Carter Shoop, Duncan Callaway, Emily Shoop, Jane Lin, Matt Town, Meredith Fowlie, Solon Bell.

The Beach Bums repeated as Piedmont adult softball league champions with a 7-4 victory over Game of Throws on August 2 at Coaches field.

The league featured seven teams this season, ranging from Saints & Sinners, the Baja Bombers, and the Muffintops, all of which have been in the league for over 15 years, to newer teams including the Other Guys, the Bodacious Batters, and the two finalists.

Game of Throws: back row (l-r): Sara Bourne, Russell Bourne, Georgia Hill, Julie Borjon, Sam Williamson, Luke Heller, Christian Turner, Carin Bradley-Alemania, Natalie WIlliamson front row: Dale Turner, Kim Hunter, Brian Mahany Not pictured: Julian Turner, Jen & Stephen Porter, Linda Smith Munyan, Stacy Readal, Dillon Heller, Leah Kjellen, Vicky Rosenbaum

All seven teams made the playoffs, with seeding based on regular season records. The Beach Bums had the top seed and received a first-round bye. They won a close semifinal game, 6-5, over the Muffintops. Third-seeded Game of Throws faced second-seeded Saints and Sinners in the other semifinal game, and romped, 19-1.

Bodacious Batters (l-r): Kristin Johnson, Steven Miller, George Manolis, Denelle Dixon-Thayer, Jeremy Bowers, Jeanine Jacobs, Michael Murphy, Lyle Johnson, Chris Hart

That set up the final, which was tied 4-4 going into the 7th and final inning. The Beach Bums scored three runs in the 7th to break the tie and win the title. Bums’ manager Chiaty Shrieve summarized the general vibe of the league: “We’re just happy to have the opportunity to get outside, hang out with a fun group of friends and get a little competitive. It makes for a great summer, and for once, our kids are watching us play!”

The Beach Bums won the 2018 title over Saints and Sinners. The Baja Bombers beat the Muffintops in the 2017 championship, when playoffs were re-instated after several years without them.

Muffintops: front row (l-r) Nick Levinson, Lauren Dutton, Paul Tiao, Fritz Fredericks; back row (l-r) Clay Mitchell, John Shields, Joe Knoll, Tami Collins, Sandy Fox, Pat Philips, Georgia Fox

The Recreation Department did its usual fine job organizing the league, including setting the schedule, lining the field before games, hiring the umpires, and making sure the games didn’t get more than “a little competitive.”

Leave a Reply

The Exedra comments section is an essential part of the site. The goal of our comments policy is to help ensure it is a vibrant yet civil space. To participate, we ask that Exedra commenters please provide a first and last name. Please note that comments expressing congratulations or condolences may be published without full names. (View our full Comments Policy.)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *